APA 7 Style Guide: References: Journal Articles

On your References page, list all your sources alphabetically by author name, according to the pattern shown here.  Use a hanging indent!

Format: Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume number(issue number), pages. https://doi.org/xx.xxx/yyyy

• Scholarly resources in databases often include a Digital Object Identifier (DOI), which is a number.  If a DOI is available, use that instead of a URL.

• If there is no DOI: online scholarly resources and news sites often have unstable URLs and offer permalinks, which are shorter and permanent.  Look for a "permalink" button and use that if one is available.

• List ALL the authors, up to and including 20 authors (this is a new rule, as APA 6 only required the first six authors). Separate each author’s initials from the next author in the list with a comma. Use an ampersand (&) before the last author’s name. If there are 21 or more authors, use an ellipsis (but no ampersand) after the 19th author, and then add the final author’s name.

• If there is more than one reference by the same author (or group of authors) published in the same year, check to see if they have more specific dates and list them chronologically, with the date included.

Scholarly article from a database, with a DOI:

Taylor, R. A., Smith, C. B., Coats, H., Gelfman, L. P., & Dionne-Odom, J. N. (2017). Update in hospice and palliative care. Journal of Palliative Medicine, 20(11), 1189–1194. https://doi.org/10.1089/jpm.2017.0435

Mitchell , B.,G., & Russo , P.,L. (2015). Preventing healthcare-associated infections: The role of surveillance. Nursing Standard (2014+), 29(23), 52. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.7748/ns.29.23.52.e9609

Scholarly article from a database, without a DOI:

Croney, C. C. (2016). The human-animal bond: Science-based approaches to improving companion animal welfare and adoption outcomes. Journal of Animal Science, 94, 208-209. Retrieved from https://butte.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/docview/2046723214?accountid=39071

Non-scholarly magazine article from a database (no DOI):

Nazir, A. (2013, Jul 26). Lighting up the big screen. Eastern Eye Retrieved from https://butte.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/docview/1428314581?accountid=39071

Price, S. l. (2018). The football gods have spoken. Sports Illustrated, 128(5), 48–56. Retrieved from https://butte.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=128136302&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Article from an online journal or magazine:

Kenneth, I. A. (2000). A Buddhist response to the nature of human rights. Journal of Buddhist Ethics, 8. Retrieved from https://www.cac.psu.edu/jbe/twocont.html

Newspaper article:

Debolt, D. (2018, Nov. 26). 'A busy time ahead of us': Butte College students return to campus, 18 days after fire.  Chico Enterprise-Record. Retrieved from https://www.chicoer.com/2018/11/26/a-busy-time-ahead-of-us-butte-college-students-return-to-campus-18-days-after-fire/

Parker-Pope, T. (2008, May 6). Psychiatry handbook linked to drug industry. The New York Times. Retrieved from https://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2008/05/06/psychiatry-handbook-linked-to-drug-industry/?_r=0

Online encyclopedia or dictionary:

• Will often not have an author name or a date, in which case use n.d. for 'no date':

Feminism. (n.d.). In Encyclopædia Britannica online. Retrieved from https://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/724633/feminism