Research Guides: Newspapers: How to Use Newspapers for Research: Newspapers Through the Library

Newspapers through Butte College Library

The library allows access to many newspapers. Because it is sometimes hard to figure out exactly where to find the resource you need, below is a selection of resources you have access to online and for free though the library.

Sacramento Bee Collection
Direct access to all Sacramento Bee resources in NewsBank including text and image editions as well as links to some video.

NewsBank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from local, U.S., and world newspapers including the Chico Enterprise Record and other Northern California newspapers. For local news use the "Local News Sources" tab.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The New York Times is one of the most well-respected news sources. It reports news on politics, national and California issues, healthcare, elections, science, technology, business, sports, arts and more. Once you create an account you will have full free access to The New York Times from anywhere.
Ethnic Newswatch (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from major newspapers in the U.S. and around the world. Includes television and radio news transcripts from a variety of major networks.
World News Digest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all major political, social, and economic events since 1940 and is updated weekly with news media roundups. Includes newsmaker profiles, facts and statistics, and landmark events in history.

Using Library Newspapers

Students can access many newspapers for free through the library. This short video gives a quick overview of the resources the library offers:

Finding a Resource by Title

The library gives students access to many newspapers for free. For example, you may want to look at articles in the Chico Enterprise-Record but don't know how to find this resource through the library. Watch the below video to learn how to determine if the library has access to the resource you want.