The library subscribes to a wide range of databases that allow you to search for specific information on your topic in thousands of newspapers and journals, including peer-reviewed articles. (Peer-review articles have the highest credibility because the information within the article is double checked by experts in the field.)
In the next box is a list of databases that we suggest for this assignment. You can also browse our full list of databases by clicking on the link below.
You can search several databases from EBSCOhost at the same time by checking the databases you want to search. For this assignment, you can choose Academic Search Complete, Business Source Elite, MasterFILE Complete, Regional Business News. Then, click Continue to start searching.
Use the advanced search techniques shown in Research Strategies and select appropriate search fields for relevant search results.
Search Example:
When you find an article you want to use for your paper, click on the Cite icon on the right to get the citation of the article.
First try searching for your county to see if there are articles on it. Then you can add more search terms to refine your search results. Use Boolean search to combine your search terms, choose appropriate search fields for the terms, and limit search results to Full text.
Search example: 
Click on the Cite link on the right to get the citation of the article you want to use for your paper.
You can search statistics, facts, and data on California industries, employment, etc. but not at county level.
Search example: California industries
You can search for educational videos using our Alexander Street video database. There are many benefits to using Alexander Street including the ability to make clips, provide transcripts, get citations, and make playlists.
This link opens in a new windowOnline streaming of academic related videos.
Many of our databases have short video tutorials that will help you navigate, search, download, save articles, and grab citations. Look for the "Video Tutorial" icon below next to the database name:
If you find an article that you want but we do not have full text access, you can request the item through the library catalog or by contacting our Interlibrary Loan department at 530-879-4026 or sarconalu@butte.edu.