The library subscribes to a wide range of databases that allow you to search for specific information on your topic in thousands of newspapers and journals. Many of your instructors will require you to use scholarly/peer-reviewed articles as sources. Peer-review articles have the highest credibility because the articles have been reviewed and approved by other experts in the field. (When searching in databases, you can limit the search results to articles from scholarly/peer-reviewed journals by checking the appropriate box in the search page.)
Use the search techniques highlighted in Research Strategies (click the tab above) to search effectively in the databases.
In the next box is a list of databases that we suggest for this class. You can also browse our full list of databases by clicking on the link below. The most popular databases are listed on the right of the database page.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowStatistics, facts, and data on consumers, products, marketing, the Internet, media & advertising, retail & trade, sports & recreation, technology & telecommunications, transportation & logistics, travel, tourism, and hospitality.
This link opens in a new windowYou can search for educational videos using our Alexander Street video database. There are many benefits to using Alexander Street including the ability to make clips, provide transcripts, get citations, and make playlists.
This link opens in a new windowOnline streaming of academic related videos.
Many of our databases have short video tutorials that will help you navigate, search, download, save articles, and grab citations. Look for the "Video Tutorial" icon below next to the database name:
If you find an article that you want but we do not have full text access, you can request the item through the library catalog or by contacting our Interlibrary Loan department at 530-879-4026 or sarconalu@butte.edu.