CDF 18 (Chofla): Finding Articles

For more information on the technical aspects and how to use the databases, please watch the helpful video below:

When starting your research and throughout your research process, your goal should be to find better, more relevant keywords. Watch the video in the right toolbar for more information on finding better keywords. For example: Search for synonyms or historical (or previously used) terms. If you are researching a historical topic or a topic that evolves regularly, you may need to think about terms that used to be commonplace but have since changed. For example, special needs and varying ability.

At the top of this page I mentioned the best type of information from your assignment requirements might be a current issue or future trend and/or educational approaches. Below are a few search examples for how I might find this information:

The best type of source to find for this might be some sort of study (or could also be called clinical trial, experiment, case study, etc.)

Here is how I would enter my search in the database search screen:

Step One: Entering my search terms

When you open a database (either from the list above or from the library's website) it will open to the advanced search screen. Look at the screenshot below for how I entered my keywords. Be sure to watch the video in the right toolbar for more on how to navigate the databases.

More examples of keyword configurations:

"Autism Spectrum Disorders" and teaching or education

"communication disorders" and education or learning

blind or "low vision" and children

Step Two: The results screen

From the results screen, find a recent study that might show a current issue or trend. Use the date filter in the left toolbar. Take note of the highlighted sections. These terms will help you identify a recent study.

Step Three: How to read scholarly articles

The articles like the highlighted articles above can be challenging to read because they tend to be specific and technical. In order to help you understand them, take a look at the infographic (Anatomy of a Scholarly Article) in the right toolbar and read the tips below:

• It helps to read the Abstract/Introduction and Conclusion first. These sections will give you a broad overview of what the article is about without much of the technical jargon.
• Read the Results and Discussion section to understand what the outcome of the study was. 
• If you would like to read further and more deeply about the study, read the rest of the article including the Methods section. Often you can get what you need by just reading the Introduction, Results, Discussion, and Conclusion of the article.

Scholarly resources have the following characteristics: ​

1. Written by experts - look for an author's credentials or affiliations.
2. Written for other experts or people in academia. Each scholarly work is a voice in an ongoing conversation to which you will add your voice when you write a paper.
3. They use scholarly language with technical, discipline specific vocabulary.
4. They provide verifiable and reliable evidence for claims. The reader can verify information. Look for citations!
5. They may be peer reviewed. Many journals go through an editorial process where other experts review and assess the information.

When searching in a database like EbscoHost or Proquest, finding the right keywords can be challenging. We discussed in the previous tab that it is helpful to become familiar with the jargon and terminology of your varying ability. Watch the short video below to learn a few quick tips for finding the best keywords. You will be spending some time in a trial and error phase until you find the best keywords on your topic. If you get stuck, contact a librarian for help.

The library databases provide you with full text scholarly articles. Google Scholar is another option for finding full text articles. Watch the quick tutorial below to link your Google Scholar account to the Butte College Library in order to find more full text results.