Library Policies: Collection Development Policies

Butte College Library is committed to providing quality information resources and services that meet the curriculum needs of our students. The Library also assists in fulfilling the diverse information needs of our entire college community and is committed to a culture of lifelong learning.

The Library's collections support the College's mission of preparing its students to become productive members of a diverse, sustainable, and global society. The collections help prepare our students for life-long learning through mastery of basic skills, achievement of degrees and certificates, and the pursuit of career and transfer pathways.

Intellectual Freedom 

The Butte Community College Library upholds the principles of the American Library Association's "Library Bill of Rights" statement:

"The American Library Association affirms that all libraries are forums for information and ideas, and that the following basic policies should guide their services:

Books and other library resources should be provided for the interest, information, and enlightenment of all people of the community the library serves. Materials should not be excluded because of the origin, background, or views of those contributing to their creation.Libraries should provide materials and information presenting all points of view on current and historical issues. Materials should not be proscribed or removed because of partisan or doctrinal disapproval. Libraries should challenge censorship in the fulfillment of their responsibility to provide information and enlightenment. Libraries should cooperate with all persons and groups concerned with resisting abridgment of free expression and free access to ideas. A person's right to use a library should not be denied or abridged because of origin, age, background, or views. Libraries which make exhibit spaces and meeting rooms available to the public they serve should make such facilities available on an equitable basis, regardless of the beliefs or affiliations of individuals or groups requesting their use."

Harmful Language Statement

The Butte College Library contains materials that span centuries, and thus will often contain viewpoints that are outdated, uncomfortable, or offensive.  These items should be considered in their historical contexts and with the understanding that keeping them accessible is one very important way that we learn to understand and reckon with the past, that we may build better in the future.  It is a library's job to make all perspectives available for study, but that is not an endorsement of those perspectives; such judgments are left to the student.

We collect items that are of historical and academic significance and are meant to be studied with a scholarly lens. That said, some materials may be both outdated and not historically significant or of scholarly value. We aim to remove these materials from our collection and use our training and collection development policy to do so.

Library catalogs are developed over time, and often use terms that are not the most current, but which reflected standards at the time that they were developed.  While we strive to describe items accurately and with language reflecting current best practices, users will need to keep in mind that older terms will appear and will sometimes be the best way to access older items.

Should you find materials in the library that you feel are offensive, you are welcome to contact librarians in person or through email at ReferenceLi@butte.edu.  We will be very happy to discuss these issues with anyone who has questions.

Butte College librarians are responsible for selecting materials in their assigned subject areas and for planning and maintaining the overall quality and balance of the collection. Librarians use a variety of selection tools, including professional library literature, and welcome suggestions for purchase from faculty, staff and students. Librarians make the final decision about all purchases. Collection development assignments are reviewed and updated annually.

The first priority is to provide students with items that support curricular instruction. Materials supporting specific courses take precedence, and materials supporting standard academic subjects in a broader way have secondary priority. General interest reading materials are purchased at a lower priority level. The library does not purchase textbooks or audiovisual materials for use in Butte College courses.

To best maximize funding, librarians follow a set of general criteria for selection of materials which supports the curriculum, promotes lifelong learning, and models sustainability. Materials are purchased based on multiple criteria including, but not limited to: lasting value; accuracy; currency or timeliness; credentials of the author, issuing body, or publisher; need in relevant curricular areas; and suitability of the work to the teaching and learning process.

Format: The library does not purchase audiovisual materials, though instructors may place their own or department copies on reserve in accordance with current copyright standards.

Appropriate Level: As part of a Community College, the Library concentrates on materials targeted to an undergraduate audience, although more advanced materials are purchased as warranted.

High Demand: Subject areas that exhibit higher demand for books are supported at a higher level in order to meet that demand. It is to be expected that academic subjects that emphasize written texts (Literature, History) exhibit greater use. Circulation statistics are collected to gauge use.

Cost: The Library has a finite budget; therefore, cost is a factor in selecting materials. Items with unusually high costs are scrutinized to be sure their anticipated level of use will justify the expense. This is especially true of serials and databases, which can be expensive and may set up an expectation of a commitment over time.

Balance in the Collection, Accuracy, and Objectivity: The Library works to maintain a balanced collection reflecting a variety of intellectual perspectives. At the same time the Library concentrates on materials that exhibit accuracy and objectivity, whatever their viewpoint.

Leisure Reading: The Library continues to seek funding to purchase best-selling books in order to meet the need for leisure reading, basic skills and English as a Second Language of the Butte College community.

Serials/Electronic Resources: The Library has an extensive selection of full-text serials, eBooks and other resources available through the California Community College League. The Library supplements these serials and electronic resources to fill curricular need for items that are not already available through the Library's consortiums. Purchase of a single volume in a serials set does not mandate purchase of the set.

Multiple Copies: Multiple copies may be purchased when warranted by high demand, but single copies are the norm for most purchases.

The library is committed to developing a collection which supports our academic programs, is representative of our unique community, and which invites students to engage with the wider world. Librarians accomplish this by building a collection that promotes a variety of ideas and viewpoints. Furthermore, we acknowledge that the library as an institution is subject to and immersed in a system of oppression that privileges certain peoples, beliefs, and knowledge i.e., white, male, cis-heteronormative, Christian and able-bodied, and that this system harms everyone to varying degrees. Because of this system and its impact, we seek out resources that include many cultures, races, genders, identities, and abilities. We gather materials written by authors from traditionally underrepresented populations, and we look to highlight historically marginalized voices. We support a curriculum that prepares students to be globally engaged citizens and believe that attention to these issues is integral to collection development and maintenance.    

The library supports the ACRL Diversity Standards. 

Please see the Library Inclusion plan for library wide goals, objectives, projects and assessments related to IDEA.  

The strategies below serve to guide our collection development decisions. They include but are not limited to the following: 

• Accessibility
  • We strive to select accessible materials if possible. 
  • If accessible materials are not available, we work to provide an accessible format or a quality accessible alternative.
  • We utilize resources such as the EBSCO Accessibility Request form or otherwise directly communicate with vendors to improve the accessibility of their materials.  
  • Inaccessible materials created by the library in the past will be updated to an accessible format. All newly created materials will be accessible where possible. 
• Representation of historically marginalized voices 
  • We prioritize resources from authors with the lived experience of historically marginalized groups. When collecting resources, we take into consideration the following: 
    • Race or ethnicity, with specific consideration of historically underrepresented groups in our local communities. For example, we have large local populations of Hmong, South Asian, undocumented, system impacted and formerly incarcerated students, as well as other groups. 
    • Sexuality and gender expression 
    • Socioeconomic status 
    • Neurodiversity  
    • Ability
• Periodic assessment of older collection 
  • Because some of our collection dates to the foundation of the college or before, when the collection development policy may not have considered the principles of IDEA, we will periodically and strategically review the collection to add balance and make sure that older works are more representative of the above groups and reflective of current scholarship.  
  • We will continue to utilize the weeding criteria of the collection development policy to improve our collection and keep it relevant for our students.   
• Cataloging practices 
  • Cataloging and metadata practices reflect the biases of creators and historical periods. Outdated and offensive terminology should be corrected both systemically and at the local level. These corrections will limit the perpetuation of biases and aid in discovery as patrons are more likely to use current terminology. 
  • Choose records with the most appropriate and up to date terminology
  • Work with statewide CCC LMS system to remove offensive language in the catalog 
  •  Consider local tags to aid in discovery 
• Professional development 
  • Each librarian will participate in continued professional development specifically related to IDEA and collection development. 
• Support openly licensed publications and zero textbook cost courses 
  • When affordable, appropriate, and available we collect resources such as supplemental readings or works of fiction, to help courses achieve a lower or zero textbook cost.  
  • We support the collection and development of openly licensed works such as open access journals and open educational resources. 
• Provide opportunities for campus groups, especially those composed of and serving underrepresented groups, to suggest purchases of new materials. 
• Regularly review and update this policy.  

The Library encourages all users (faculty, staff, and students) to recommend materials for purchase by the Library. If you have a suggestion for purchase, please refer to our Book Recommendation Form.

The Library adheres to the Butte College Gift Policy (AP 3820: Gifts)

The Library welcomes donated materials that support the teaching, research, and general needs of the College community. The Library reserves the right to determine retention, location, and other considerations relating to use of donated items. The Library review will include:

• Relevance to the academic mission and programs of the College and the Library
• Appropriateness of content, currency, and format with regard to existing Library collections
• Potential usefulness
• Condition of materials and potential costs of maintenance

Materials found to be suitable for the collection will be cataloged and placed in the appropriate Library collection for use by the campus community. Materials not accepted for the Library collections may be offered to other academic or public libraries, traded for materials the Library can use, recycled, or discarded.

Librarians will not assign a tax value to donations.

Donation guidelines

We welcome donations of current hardcover books and paperbacks in excellent condition.

We generally do not accept donations of magazines, newspapers or journals. Please contact the library if you are interested in funding a long-term, institutional subscription for any periodicals.

We do not purchase or collect textbooks or any audiovisual materials.

The Library will review the suitability of the donated material for addition to the collection in accordance with the same selection criteria used for purchases.

The library reserves the right to recycle, discard or sell any donated books.

Donation guidelines for other gifts and bequests

The Library and the College accept other types of donations in accordance with the Butte College Gift Policy (AP 3820 – Gifts).

Please contact the Foundation office located on Main Campus for more information on gifts and bequests: Butte College Foundation

Butte College Foundation
3536 Butte Campus Drive
Oroville, CA 95965

(530) 895-2359
foundation@butte.edu

Procedures

Responsibility

Before being discarded each item is reviewed by the appropriate librarian based on professional judgment and knowledge of the collection and curriculum. Librarians may at times look to classroom instructors for their recommendations. 

Identification

Set up a cutoff date and retrieve circulation record to identify any item that has not circulated after the cutoff date. Identify items that are in poor physical condition. Retrieve old titles by checking copyright/publication date in the catalog.

Discard

Items to be weeded will be removed from shelf and catalog. Items will be recycled or donated to book sales. All discarded items should be clearly marked as discarded.

Reasons to Weed

To ensure that the collection is relevant to the curriculum and meets the students' current research needs.To provide an appealing and up-to-date collection that is actively used by the campus community.To make space for newer and better items.

General Weeding Criteria

• Discard superseded editions that do not contain unique information, data, or provide a historical reference not available in the most current edition.
• Do not keep duplicate titles unless a proven demand exists for multiple copies.
• Discard titles unused within a reasonable time period based on subject and scope of the work except for items considered classics or standard editions.
• Discard if currency or reliability of the resource's information has lost value.
• Discard superfluous subjects no longer relevant to the curriculum.
• Discard items in poor condition that are beyond reasonable preservation efforts.

Subject Specific Weeding Criteria

General Works (A): Replace at least one set of encyclopedias every five years. Almanacs and yearbooks are replaced with newer editions.

Philosophy (B-BD, BH, BJ): Most philosophy books do not become outdated.

Psychology (BF): Follow general weeding criteria.

Religion (BL-BX): Most religion books do not become outdated.

History (C, D, E, F): Follow general weeding criteria.

Geography (G-GR): Books in this area can quickly become outdated.

Athletics (GV): Follow general weeding criteria.

Social Science (H-HA): Follow general weeding criteria.

Economics (HB-HJ): Retain primary works by distinguished economists.

Sociology (HM-HX): Retain primary works by distinguished sociologists.

Political Science (J-JX): Retain all primary works.

Law (K): Follow general weeding criteria.

Education (L): Retain biographical materials.

Music (M): Music books generally do not become outdated.

Art (N): Art books generally do not become outdated.

Literature and Language (P): Retain criticism of classic titles. Keep multiple copies of classic literary works.

Pure Science (Q): Remove older materials when newer materials are available that provide better explanations of complex subjects. Materials become outdated when there are new scientific discoveries, theories and techniques in the area.

Mathematics (QA 9-74, 78-939): Retain classics. Normally withdraw older editions when superseded by new ones.

Computer Science (QA 75-77): Materials in this area become outdated quickly. Withdraw older editions when superseded by new ones because newer materials in this area often provide more up-to-date development, better explanations and illustrations.

Astronomy (QB), Physics (QC), Chemistry (QD): Retain titles that are regarded as 'landmark' in the area. Retain works of significant historical or literary value.

Biological Sciences (QH-QR): Follow general weeding criteria.

Medicine (R): Constantly monitor changes in disease diagnosis and treatment. Discard older editions when superseded by new ones. Older materials may be very misleading or even dangerous.

Agriculture (S): Discard older editions when superseded by new ones.

Technology (T): Withdraw materials when newer editions are published or newer material provides better coverage and treatment except auto and appliance repair manuals, cookbooks, and books on guns, clocks, etc.

Military (U-V): Follow general weeding criteria.

Bibliography & Library (Z): Follow general weeding criteria.