Research Guides: Free Image Collections: Museum and Archival Collections

Library and Archival Collections

Library of Congress - Free to Use and Reuse Sets
"Items from the Library's digital collections that are free to use and reuse."
The MET
"More than 375,000 hi-res images of public-domain works from the collection."
Wellcome Library - Digital Collections
"Thousands of items from the Library's collections are freely available online."
Getty Open Content Images
"High-resolution images of the Museum's collection free to use, modify, and publish for any purpose."
Smithsonian Open Access
"access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections...this includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo."
British Library Digital Collections
An "ever growing digitised collection" of maps, images, manuscripts, sounds, and documents from around the world.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
"A living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more."
UC Berkeley Library
"UC Berkeley Library’s rare and unique digitized special collections, books, manuscripts, images, photographs, newspapers, and more."
BDMx: Biblioteca Digital Mexicana
A collection of unpublished or rare items from Mexican archives.

"A King Offers to Make Amends to a Bereaved Mother", Folio from a Khamsa (Quintet) of Amir Khusrau Dihlavi: 1597–98. Attributed to India.

Author: Amir Khusrau Dihlavi (Indian, Patiyali, 1253–1325 Delhi)

Artist: Painting attributed to Miskin (active ca. 1570–1604)

CC0 Public Domain.