ENGL 2 (Dahl): Finding Articles

The library databases provide you with full text scholarly articles. Google Scholar is another option for finding full text articles. Watch the quick tutorial below to link your Google Scholar account to the Butte College Library in order to find more full text results.

You can search for educational videos using our Alexander Street video database.

When searching in a database like EbscoHost or Proquest, finding the right keyterms can be challenging. Watch the short video below to learn a few quick tips for finding the best keywords. You will be spending some time in a trial and error phase until you find the best keywords on your topic. If you get stuck, contact a librarian for help.

When starting your research and throughout your research process, your goal should be to find better, more relevant keywords. Ebsco and Proquest databases provide you with several options for finding keywords.

• Search a reference source like Wikipedia or online encyclopedia. These sources will help you become familiar with the jargon of your topic. For example you may use the term robot and an expert in technology may use the term artificial intelligence.
• Search for synonyms or historical terms. Similar to the idea above, if you are researching a historical topic, you may need to think about terms that used to be commonplace but have since changed. For example, global warming used to be the phrase used for rising global temperatures, but more recently, research uses the term climate change.
• The databases will also help you to find keywords to use. Once you enter Ebsco or Proquest and type in your search terms, take a quick look at the results screen. Look at the subject terms for the articles that are relevant to your topic. For example, in the image below my initial search was public health AND addiction. After finding a relevant article I see other terms such as drug abuse (broader term), alcoholism (more specific term), and opioid abuse.

• Use the Subject tab. From the results screen, you can also open the Subject tab found on the left toolbar. When you open the Subject tab, you will find relevant keywords for your topic and will help you limit your results.

Scholarly resources have the following characteristics: ​

1. Written by experts - look for an author's credentials or affiliations.
2. Written for other experts or people in academia. Each scholarly work is a voice in an ongoing conversation to which you will add your voice when you write a paper.
3. They use scholarly language with technical, discipline specific vocabulary.
4. They provide verifiable and reliable evidence for claims. The reader can verify information. Look for citations!
5. They may be peer reviewed. Many journals go through an editorial process where other experts review and assess the information.