Libraries and museums all over the world now offer digitized collections, so you can see historical and artistic treasures from where you are. Explore some of these online exhibitions of Black history:
Watch hundreds of Black movies with the Black Film Archive, which lists films (by decade and by genre) and where they are available for streaming.
The Smithsonian's National Museum of African American History and Culture has many online exhibitions. Explore military history, hip-hop, Black cinema, and more. And check out the Museum's family history initiatives -- they'll help you document and preserve your own family's story.
The Library of Congress has many collections of African-American historical content:
UC Berkeley's online collections include:
The Oakland Public Library has over a thousand photos by E. F. Johnson, the Bay Area's first professional Black photographer. There are wonderful personal photos, portraits, and all sorts.
The New York Public Library's online collections have almost a million items. Here are a few categories:
Read the diary entries of Emilie Davis, who lived in Philadelphia during the Civil War. She kept pocket diaries from 1863 - 1865, which have been digitized.
Storycorps has a special collection of Black stories. You can add to the collection by recording your relatives!
The Amistad Research Center is an independent archive that offers open access to its collections. Check out the list of digital projects!
The National Underground Railroad History Center has four lovely digital exhibits.
Libraries and museums also make special collections of images that are in the public domain and not only free for you to explore, but also free for you to use and remix as you please in your own work. In this box, you'll find collections you know you can reuse. Why not print some things out and make a collage, or a book?
The Library of Congress has collections of images that are free to use and reuse. (We highlight a couple here but check them all out!)
The Smithsonian's National Museum of African American History has an incredible variety of themed collections that are free to use under a CC0 license.
