Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BIOL 2 (Wakim): Reliable Sources

Research guide for BIOL 2 - Human Anatomy. Suzanne Wakim's class.

Recommended Websites

alt=””The following websites have trusted information that you can use for your research. 

Finding Scholarly Articles in Library Databases

How to Search a Database

When doing research for a paper, you will get your best results by using good search techniques. We are all used to using Google to find things easily, but Google is not the best tool for the first steps of college-level research. It's much more efficient and productive to use library databases, and to learn a few good skills so that when you do use Google, you can use it effectively.


First, let's learn more about searching for scholarly articles:


Learn to use keywords to search well:


As you search, think about:

  • Do you need to broaden your search out, or narrow it down to a tighter focus?
  • As you search, you'll see synonyms or similar terms that may be useful. Write them down and try them out.
  • Try different combinations of words. Good research involves many searches, not just one.
  • If you are only getting a few results in a search, check your spelling. Databases can't correct for misspellings.

The library has many videos on research skills and using particular databases. See more videos about research skills here!

Recommended Databases for Human Biology

The library subscribes to a wide range of databases that allow you to search for specific information. Below you will find the complete database list, A-Z Databases, as well as databases recommended for medical and health research.