LibraryRunner

November is Native American Heritage Month, and there will be events and learning opportunities all over campus, including the library!  Drop by and check out our display of books -- novels, history, art, and current issues -- and take one home to read.  You can also see our new online curated collection of Native American titles, which includes links to ebooks, and our online guide to all library resources on Indigenous topics, including useful databases and links to online museum exhibits.

The library is here to help you learn some new-to-you history, sink into a story, or gain new perspectives on current issues.  Come on in!

Pictorial Maidu basket of the late 19th century

Textbook adoptions are due soon. Did you know that the library can help you find affordable resources for your class?

Have you assigned reading materials for your class such as novels, non-fiction popular reading, or other materials? The library can see if there are affordable ebook options for your course through the library. We can also place print materials on reserve for your courses at all Butte College locations. Though textbooks from large publishers are usually not available though the library, we don’t mind checking as sometimes there is an exception. Email referenceli@butte.edu for requests or questions. 

Open Educational Resources (OER) are also a convenient and affordable option for students. Freely available online, OER are instantly accessible to students, prevent copyright violations, and can be adapted and modified. You don’t have to spend time searching for OER yourself. Contact Librarian Rachel Arteaga arteagara@butte.edu and she will search for quality resources you can use in your class. For more information on OER at Butte College see the OER and ZTC for Faculty Research Guide.

The Library offers many friendly online guides that can give you information about a specific course or topic, or that focus on research skills.  We've just published two new guides:

• Tik Tok for Research will show you how to understand how Tik Tok works, evaluate videos for accuracy, and how to cite them in a research paper;
• LGBTQ+ Resources at the Library will point you to books, databases, and other things (like online museum exhibits!) that focus on LGBTQ+ issues. 

Don't forget our other guides and collections, such as...

• This year's Book In Common
• Guides for ethnic studies classes: African-American, Asian-American, Latinx/Chicanx, and Indigenous peoples
• Themed book collections, like women's history, Hispanic heritage, and a selection of our newest titles
• Our step-by-step guide to writing research papers!

Stop by your friendly neighborhood campus library for help with research and finding out what you need to know.  Plus we have printers, and great books to read!

Drop by the library to check out our October display full of scary reading ideas. We have books about the history of witches, classics like Frankenstein, graphic novels, and more! If you cannot come into the library, take a look at our digital collection of scary reads. And don't forget that this is a small sample of what we have available in our collection. Search the library catalog for full access to all of our resources. 

Instructors: do you want your students to learn how to use library resources to find better information?  Schedule a library instruction workshop!  A librarian will work with you to tailor the material to your students' needs.  We'll introduce resources, demonstrate how to use the catalog and databases, and lead students in using basic searching techniques so they can get started with a hands-on research experience.  Fill out the request form to schedule your class visit.

Some topics we can cover, according to need:

For classes on the Main campus, we have a dedicated computer lab space to hold the workshop.  At Chico or Glenn Centers, we will visit your classroom.  We are also happy to  teach an online class via Zoom.

You can get a preview of what a library instruction session looks like with this video version.  The library also offers many short tutorial videos, which can be embedded in Canvas for introduction and reinforcement of particular research skills.