LibraryRunner

We have two new mobile displays up in the library. The first has a very simple concept, purple books! Drop by the new books section to see all the purple books available in the library along with some famous quotes about the color purple. 

Our other new display, Short and Sweet, features books you can read in one sitting or over the course of a few hours. If you want to start reading more, or are short on time but want to finish a whole book, then these titles are for you. We have lots of different genres to choose from so there is surely something to suit your mood.

Celebrate Black History Month in the library!   We have online resources and collections as well as a great display. 

Here are a few resources to check out:

• Black History Collection - A curated selection of books about Black history as well as art, culture, social issues, and other topics that inform Black history and culture in the United States and around the world.
• Black History Month Research Guide - Celebrate Black History Month by using the tabs to choose an ebook to read, attend an online event, and explore images and items from museums.  Everything here is free to use for Butte College students.
• Ethnic Studies: African-American Experiences Research Guide - A guide to library resources about African-Americans.
• Racial Justice and Anti-Racist E-Reading List - E-books on racial justice.

Make sure to stop by both main Campus and Chico Center to see our displays and take a book or two home with you.

And just for fun, check out the National Museum of African American History and Culture's exhibition of Afrofuturism. Though you may not be able to see the exhibit in person, the museum has lots of materials online including articles such as Five You Should Know: Black Women Icons of Afrofuturism, as well as videos, interactive online collection highlights, and more. 

The Butte College Library has put together resources for anyone concerned about immigration issues.  Look here to find links to advice, free legal aid, and helps for students, staff, and faculty. 

• Find out about your rights
• What to do on campus if someone asks about others' status
• Learn about warrants and subpoenas
• Print out pass-along cards with information in several languages
• What's the Laken-Riley Act?
• Keep up on the latest news and any rule changes

It's a new semester, so let's get a quick overview of what the library offers!

• Thousands of books and ebooks to support your research (and leisure!)
• Millions of articles contained in 50+ databases, covering every subject from anatomy to zoology
• Textbooks reserved by instructors so you can do homework on campus
• Librarians to help you find the information you need
• Computers and free printing (limit of 15 pages a day)
• Online guides to help you with research, citations, and classes
• Quiet study spaces and bookable study rooms 
• Quick video tutorials showing you how to search, use databases, and much more

Finals are here and the library is here to help! Below are a few ways the library can ease your stress. 

Are you doing research for a big paper or project?

• Drop by the library and get personalized help from a reference librarian.
• Set up an appointment to consult with a librarian in person or on Zoom.
• Consult our list of video tutorials.
• Check out our step-by-step guide to writing a research paper.
• Browse our list of specialized research guides. You may find one for your course, topic, or research question. We have citation guides, a guide on understanding historical sources, a guide on how to use newspapers for research, and many more.

Do you need a quiet place to study?

• The main campus library is open Monday through Thursday 8 am to 5 pm and Friday 8 am - 12 pm. Chico Center is open Monday through Thursday 7:30 am to 8 pm and Friday 8 am to 12 pm. You can always check library hours on our calendar. 
• Reserve a study room if you need to practice a presentation, work in a small group, or attend a Zoom class. 
• Use our computer labs. Printing is free (up to 15 pages per day).

Can't get to the library in person?

• Remember that much of what the library offers is available 24/7 online. 
• Use our 24/7 chat service.
• We have many online books you can access anywhere you have internet.
• All of our research databases are available online.

Welcome to the Butte College Library's Wrapped for 2024!  Students did a lot at the library this year, and here's the proof:

Design by Rachel Arteaga

• From January 1 - December 5, we had:
  • 70,987 patrons come through our doors at the Main Campus 
  • 11,137 patrons come through the door at the Chico Center
  • In total, that is 4.66 times the amount that can be held at the Golden One Center, and would almost fill up the Rose Bowl.
  • Of course, that isn't really unique patrons; we have many satisfied students who come back again and again.  Many of those students used our study rooms, worked on library computers, or did research for their academic topics.  Probably a few of them took restful naps, too!
• Most Used Database: Proquest, with 11,726 searches.
• Top 5 searches in the library catalog:
  • learning English
  • sleep
  • World War II
  • menopause
  • water knife
• Top 5 books checked out (evidently our Ghibli Reads display was a success!):
  • Freedom libraries : the untold story of libraries for African Americans in the South, by Mike Selby
  • How the word is passed : a reckoning with the history of slavery across America, by Clint Smith
  • Howl's Moving Castle, by Diana Wynne Jones
  • Nausicaä of the Valley of Wind, with story and art by Hayao Miyazaki
  • Maus I : a survivor's tale : my father bleeds history, by Art Spiegelman
  • Reserve books checked out: 638
• Top 5 films watched on Kanopy:
  • The Struggle in the Fields
  • Delano Manongs
  • Quest for Homeland
  • Freedom Archives: Cointelpro 101
  • The 400 Blows
• Technology: we provide laptops and wi-fi hotspots for checkout at Main, Chico, and Glenn campuses, and there's more demand than supply, but we're always working on getting more!  In 2024:
  • 92 checkouts of laptops
  • 94 checkouts of hotspots
• Plus, our study rooms were usually full; there's no telling how many people used them.

That's a wrap for 2024!  Best of luck with finals and we look forward to seeing you in Spring 2025!

We recently published an online collection of modern retellings of myths, fairy tales, and classic stories.  Now we've collected some from our shelves for you to take home and read!  .Though reimaginings of Shakespeare, Greek myths, and European fairytales are popular, they can often have a new twist of setting, culture, or gender in a modern version.  Or perhaps you'd like to read Jane Eyre from the perspective of Bertha, the wife locked in the attic!  How about 1984 from the perspective of Julia, or Huck Finn from Jim's point of view?  We also have stories from all over the world -- try reading Sita's story of her life! Come on in and pick one up to enjoy.

November is Native American Heritage Month. Drop by the library to check out our display of books -- novels, history, art, and current issues -- and take one home to read.  You can also see our online curated collection of Native American titles, which includes links to ebooks, and our online guide to all library resources on Indigenous topics, including useful databases and links to online museum exhibits.

We have many books on a variety of related subjects to choose from. Here are a few newer books you can discover in the library:

Wandering Stars by Tommy Orange

Call Number: PS3615.R32 W36 2024

Publication Date: 2024

The Rediscovery of America by Ned Blackhawk

Call Number: E77 .B64 2023

Publication Date: 2023

 

 

 

Native Nations by Kathleen DuVal

Call Number: E77 .D887 2024

Publication Date: 2024

 

 

 

 

Dream Catchers by Philip Jenkins

Call Number: BL2500 .J46 2004

Publication Date: 2004

 

 

 

 

 

Are you looking to incorporate more documentary video or film into your course content?  Not everything is available on YouTube, and we all want to make sure that students have free access to any assigned content.  That's why the library subscribes to two video databases, both of which allow instructors to link directly to or embed videos right into Canvas. 

Kanopy offers documentaries and feature films for streaming.  10,000 titles are available!  Should the film you want not be available in our package, you can request that it be purchased.

Alexander Street Video is an extensive archive of documentary video.  Look here for historic news clips as well as documentary films.  This is a subscription service and does not need individual purchase, so look here first, but it has relatively little feature film content.  Check out this quick overview for more information.

 Instructors should make sure that content is still available at the beginning of every semester, since -- like all streaming services -- items do go in and out of availability. 

If you like myths, fairytales, and classic stories consider reading a modern retelling. Sometimes a modern version of a story becomes a classic itself. Modern retellings can fit into any genre from romance, mystery, fantasy, or family saga. Though reimaginings of Shakespeare, Greek myths, and European fairytales are popular they can often have a new twist of setting, culture, or gender. We also have stories from all over the world such as India, Mexico, Nigeria, and more. For a glimpse of what we have take a look at our collection of modern retellings.