LibraryRunner

Instructors: do you want your students to learn how to use library resources to find better information?  Schedule a library instruction workshop!  A librarian will work with you to tailor the material to your students' needs.  We'll introduce resources, demonstrate how to use the catalog and databases, and lead students in using basic searching techniques so they can get started with a hands-on research experience.  Fill out the request form to schedule your class visit.

Some topics we can cover, according to need:

For classes on the Main campus, we have a dedicated computer lab space to hold the workshop.  At Chico or Glenn Centers, we will visit your classroom.  We are also happy to  teach an online class via Zoom.

You can get a preview of what a library instruction session looks like with this video version.  The library also offers many short tutorial videos, which can be embedded in Canvas for introduction and reinforcement of particular research skills.

The library is pleased to offer our first zine. Question Authority: How to Radicalize Your Research and Amplify Marginalized Scholars, offers an introduction to "power imbalances in academic research." The various topics addressed in the zine include algorithms, citation bias, marginalized research, and the library's role in both perpetuating and correcting bias in research. Don't worry if you do not know anything about these issues. The zine is here to help! Even better is that inside you will find strategies and solutions that will help you radicalize your own research. 

The library would love to collaborate with students, faculty, classes, clubs, or anyone on campus who has ideas for future issues of the zine. If you have any research related ideas and want to get involved please contact Tia Germar at germarti@butte.edu.

There are several versions of the zine available. If you would like to print your own copy you can use the printable PDF. An accessible version of the zine is also available. The library will also have printed versions available so drop by to get your very own copy.

Tia Germar created and compiled the zine. It is available a under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial 4.0 International License. This means you can attribute, share, adapt, print it out, and give it away for free. If you have any questions about the zine you can contact Tia Germar at germarti@butte.edu.

With final projects and papers rapidly approaching, we thought you might like to see a selection of our most popular research guides and video tutorials.  Here are the top five of each:

Top Five Research Guides

5. MLA Style Guide (8th edition): Here's a quick and handy guide to using MLA citations in your paper.

4. APA 7 Style Guide:  And now, a quick and handy guide to using APA citations in your paper.  (We have Chicago too!) 

3. Evaluating Media in the Age of Fake News: Misinformation swirls around the internet and can be hard to spot.  Find helpful information here, as well as material on paid trolls, the Q conspiracy, and common scams directed at college students. 

2. Using the Library Remotely:  The majority of our library resources are online and this shows you all the tricks. You don't need to enter the library on campus in order to make good use of it!

1.  Research Paper: A step-by-step guide: With over 14,000 views to its credit, we're guessing that other colleges have found this guide too.  It's a detailed tutorial in 9 steps on writing research papers.  If you're feeling clueless, this is a good place to start!

Top Five Video Tutorials

5. Using the SIRS Database: If you need to write a paper on "a current issue that isn't abortion, gun control, or marijuana," SIRS should be your first stop.

4. Narrowing a Research Topic:  It can be tricky to think of a research topic that is just the right size for your paper.  Here are some tips.

3.  Keywords: Choosing the Best Search Terms:  Students often get stuck trying to find the best search terms for a database.  This video will show you how to get the most out of your research terms.

2.  Choosing the Best Database For Your Project:  But even before you pin down the right terms to use, you need to find the best database for your needs!  Find out how.

1. Writing a Thesis Statement:  The mere words "thesis statement" can strike terror into the heart of any student.  Find out how to conquer the dreaded thesis statement and produce one that is effective and clear.

If none of these has the information you're looking for, we have many other guides and videos, and we like you to come in and ask us!  Or try our 24/7 live chat box on the front page.

Happy spring semester!  While everything is still difficult and classes are mostly online, the college library is here to help you get your work done.  We really miss seeing you in person, but library services are all available -- the only thing we can't offer is access to physical books.  You can still:

Ask a librarian!  Use the chat box on our homepage to ask for help with research.  A co-op team of librarians is available 24/7 to help you find what you need.  You can also contact us personally through email, or set up an appointment to talk about your research.

Access millions of quality articles through our databases.  Just use your MyBC username/password for access to 50+ databases that hold news, magazine, and scholarly journal articles.  This is a much more efficient way to find the information you need; Google is not really your best bet for college-level research.

Learn research and writing skills with video tutorials.  We've been busy adding to our collection of video tutorials, and you can easily learn how to grab a citation, avoid plagiarism, use a particular database, and much more.  There's a sample at the end of this post.

Use research guides.  Check out our list of research guides for help with many different topics and research jobs.

Use ebooks.  We have just as many ebooks as physical books, and you can read them anywhere!  You'll see them in the library catalog with the tag "Available online."  Most are for your classroom or research needs, but we also have plenty of novels and good reading for your fun and relaxation.  And if you're interested in current racial justice issues, check out our list of titles, all free to you with the click of a link.

The library is here to help you!  Please contact us and ask questions. 

Photo by Yoksel