Welcome back to the new fall semester! The library is here to help with all your study needs.
We are open:
Main Campus: Monday - Thursday 8 am - 5 pm; Closed Friday
Chico Center: Monday - Thursday 7:30 am - 9:30 pm. Closed Friday. Testing hours for Chico Center 7:30 am - 7:30 pm.
The library can help with printing, group study rooms, a quiet place to study, books and ebooks, research help and so much more!
Now that the semester has started you may be wondering about services on campus. Here are just a few:
Books and a quiet place to study. Did you know that the library collects all types of books besides just scholarly titles? We have a sizable graphic novel collection on the first floor, as well as a leveled leisure reading collection, popular paperbacks, ESL titles, and a children's section. All of these are available on the first floor of the library which is a quiet study area (low voices are ok). The second floor is also quiet study with a computer lab, a new books collection and a reference collection. Up on the third floor, the silent floor, you will find the majority of our books. It's fun to browse section by section. You may find some treasures!
Study rooms. Book a study room online ahead of time. Simply drop by the computer/reference desk to check in.
Ask a librarian! Use the chat box both on our homepage and when searching the catalog to ask for research help. A co-op team of librarians is available 24/7 to help you find what you need. You can also contact us personally through email, or set up an appointment to talk about your research.
Access millions of quality articles through our databases. Just use your MyBC username/password for access to 50+ databases that hold news, magazine, and scholarly journal articles. This is a much more efficient way to find the information you need; Google is not really your best bet for college-level research.
Learn research and writing skills with video tutorials. We've been busy adding to our collection of video tutorials, and you can easily learn how to grab a citation, avoid plagiarism, use a particular database, and much more.
Use research guides. Check out our list of research guides for help with many different topics and research projects.
Use ebooks. We have just as many ebooks as physical books, and you can read them anywhere! You'll see them in the library catalog with the tag "Available online." Most are for your classroom or research needs, but we also have plenty of novels and good reading for your fun and relaxation. And if you're interested take a look at our curated book lists.
Much, much more! Many other services are listed on our website. Take a minute to explore all we have to offer.
The library is here to help you! Please contact us and ask questions.