Research Guides: ENGL 11 (Vincent): Finding Articles

What is a Scholarly Resource?

medical journal icon Scholarly resources have the following characteristics:

Written by experts - look for an author's credentials or affiliations.
Written for other experts or people in academia. Each scholarly work is a voice in an ongoing conversation to which you will add your voice when you write a paper.
They use scholarly language with technical, discipline specific vocabulary.
They provide verifiable and reliable evidence for claims. The reader can verify information. Look for citations!
They may be peer reviewed. Many journals go through an editorial process where other experts review and assess the information.

How to Read a Scholarly Article

Recommended Databases for ENGL 11

The library subscribes to a wide range of databases that allow you to search for specific information. Below you will find the complete database list, A-Z Databases, as well as databases recommended for your class.

A-Z Database List

EBSCOHost (Combined) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search any or all EBSCOHost databases at once. Over 15 academic, general, multidisciplinary and specialized databases.
eBooks from Gale This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, professional journals, reports and magazines in the social sciences, the humanities, and general sciences.
America: History and Life with Full Text (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, professional journals, and magazines on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal and magazine articles in psychology and psychiatry including child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other timely sources across many subject areas, from business and the sciences to literature and politics.
JSTOR Full Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutions, and primary sources. For the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.